Lockdown Fasting: Maywind's Journal

Hi everyone! I’ve been fasting off and on for the past 3 years but last year I put on a bunch of weight after my brother died. Now that I’m in quarantine, I’m trying to take advantage of my downtime to fast off the weight I gained. I’m currently in my second extended fast, the first having lasted a few hours short of 6 days.

Stats/info:

• I’m a 31 year old FT librarian so even when I’m working out of the home, I’m still pretty stationary
  • I’m 5’3”
  • I’ve struggled with my weight for most of my adult life, predominantly due to anxiety
  • My highest weight was 181lbs in 2012, my lowest weight was 133lbs in 2013

I started my first “quarantine fast” at the end of April. My starting weight was 171.4lbs, my ending weight was 163.8lbs. I had a rough week after that and regained a few but started a new fast on May 1. My current weight is 160.2lbs so I estimate about a 5.8lb loss since I started. I didn’t weigh myself until day 3 because I felt a bit disappointed before that and didn’t see any reason to make myself sadder by checking until I felt ready.

My original plan was to break tomorrow evening but I’m considering going a bit further. I feel pretty good so I think I’ll go until “true hunger” returns. Plus, I’d like to get a bit deeper into the 150s before I break.

5 Likes

Welcome to our fasting community!

Technical note: to keep future entries on this single thread, click on reply in the lower right hand corner.

1 Like

I just passed into the 150s this morning at 159.8. My daily weight loss has slowed considerably. I’m not sure if I’m just done losing water weight and am working through fat more (is that a thing?) or if I need to up my water intake, as I may have gotten a little lazy with it. In any case, .4/day is still obviously no small feat. I just hadn’t seen such a slowdown (2 days now) when I researched similar fasts (sex, height, age, weight, length).