Mary's Extended Fasting journal

I’ve been fasting for several months, anywhere from 1 day to 8. Going longer has concerned me after reading all those “only under doctor’s supervision” warnings. Even Jason Fung recommends only going 3 days.

Discovering Yasemins videos and this site has given me the confidence to try 14 days. I’m on mandatory self-isolation in the UK, after flying in from Canada yesterday, so this seems like a good time to start. Roughly 36 hours in at this point and everything’s going well.

Thanks to all who are posting about their fasts - it’s very encouraging for me to read of your successes.

4 Likes

Quarantine sounds like a great time to fast. I, too, wonder about all the warnings about a doctor’s supervision. I’m just trying to listen to my body and not push things too far if I really don’t feel right.

2 Likes

Hi Sky,
I’ve heard many times about “exercising the fasting muscle” and it seems to be true. Just before I got on the plane, I did a 3 day fast and honestly, I felt like I could’ve gone forever.
And you’re right - none of us are stupid. If we don’t feel well, we’ll eat. There’s always another day.

2 Likes

It’s tough trusting many Drs as at least here in the US they’re not expected to be nutritionists on top and don’t get training in that.

The food pyramid is a crock. The need for breakfast every day is a crock too. And virtually everything in the store is processed one way or another and loaded with sugars and things to preserve the food.

You will find a plethora of videos and Fasting groups on FB with people who go much longer than 3 days. If you don’t have any meds or prescription or massive underlying issues going on then I say go for it. Provided you have ample body fat and are considered overweight or more.

Keep educating yourself and listen to your body - not the evil ego feed me gremlin.

I have a breaking point but haven’t found it yet. :rofl:

Currently Fasting 5 consecutive days a week and my body is taking it well.