Fasting twice or once a month?

Hi everyone,

I have a question regarding prolonged water fasting. First let me say I’m total newbie when it comes to fasting and explain my situation. I want to try water fasting in order to decrease my chronic neurologic inflammatory condition, caused by my malfunctioning overresponsive immune system, not to lose weight.

I’d like to establish permanent healthy eating monthly schedule that is doable for life. I’ve gotten used to daily ‘18:6 intermittent fasting’ eating pattern ( with 1pm-7pm eating window) and now I’d like to upgrade it with prolonged fasting on regular basis, because from what I’ve gathered from dr. Jason Fung, state of autophagy can only be achieved after 2-3 days of prolonged fasting so intermittent fasting is not enough.

My questing is would it be better to fast twice a month (I was thinking on doing 3-4 day water fast around new moon and full moon) or only once a month for a longer period (thinking of going around 5-7 days without food)? What are your thoughts and experiences? Does this water fasting plan make any sense at all (again I’m a newbie, any advise would be most welcome)?

Thank you for your opinions in advance.

3 Likes

I don’t really have an answer but good for you for taking gradual steps! Also I hope you can figure out works for you. Start small then extend? Experiment! You do you! And keep us posted! Great job!

1 Like

Personally I would say twice a month (though I’m not really basing that on anything) and it’ll give you more benefit too.

I can tell you though that the arthrirus in my leg and foot joints is less painful and I don’t “walk like a robot” - as my son describes it - when I’m doing 3-days + water fasts, and this continues for a few days/weeks after too. I can highly recommend prolongued water fasting. I hope that helps :smiley:

2 Likes