Advise on a 40 day water fast

I am 5 ft 8 in i want to water fast 40 days I am starting at 125 pounds. Will my weight be a problem? Also I ride horses and work at a horse farm 4 days a week. Can I do a water fast for 40 days with these conditions?

40 days may be a lot for your height/weight. Have you fasted before? Maybe do a 14 or 21 day and see how you feel? You could always keep going if everything is doing well.

Thatā€™s good to know going into it so that beyond 14 or 21 days I should not persevere if I have concerns. Iā€™m just a little bit worried about perservering through discomfort if itā€™s life threatening and not just part of the detox cleansing process and not being able to decern the difference

I have never done a water fast before. But I have been researching them for years and I canā€™t get the idea out of my head and I really just want to do it

You can expect to lose a half a pound a day - taking you to 105 which for your height is probably not healthy. Iā€™m 5ā€™6 and would be anorexic looking at that weight.

Definitely check with your doctor.

Personally Iā€™d fatten myself up first if I were in your shoes. Not hard for me to došŸ˜‚.

1 Like

Thats good information. It is useful to know the numbers.

Agree with Miramar, you will lose about 1/2 lb of fat per day for the first couple of weeks than it will drop to about 1/4 lb p/day (from what I have read). If you do not have body fat to spare, your body will start cannibalizing your muscles, so just be cognizant of how much body fat you have when doing the fast. In the very beginning you will drop probably 5-9 lbs of water weight almost immediately (the first few days).

Whatā€™s your reason for doing an extended fast? You could always start with shorter fasts (1-3 days) and work your way up.

3 Likes

My advice is this - Do it in stages, with a 4-5 day feed between.