Tara's 50 Day Water Fasting Journal

May 12, 2021

Hey everyone! My name is Tara, and I am 7 days into my first 50 day water fast.

So far, I’ve been doing all of my journaling in a notebook (the old school way), but I’ve been so inspired by reading everyone else’s journals that I feel like putting this all out there in such a genuinely supportive community will keep me accountable and on track! So thank you all in advance for helping me succeed!

I am no stranger to fasting. I have been doing IF, ADF, and 5/2 on and off for the last 2+ years. My struggles are with consistency. I have a habit of starting out great, but then before I know it I’ve fallen off the wagon and I end up beating myself up about it to the point where I don’t even want to try again. Eventually I do though, and the vicious cycle continues.

This 50 day fast is not only about the much needed weight loss for me. It’s also about detoxifying my body AND my mind. It’s about proving to myself that I CAN overcome my history of self-sabotage, and that I CAN break my addictions to sugar and fast food.

I am currently 39 years old, but will turn 40 this July. My starting weight was 242.3 pounds. I am now at 231.7 pounds. My biggest hurdle this past week has been fighting the exhaustion, weakness, and lightheadedness. I dissolve some Pink Himalayan Salt in water and take that as needed, and I drink water with added electrolytes daily. I attend Jazzercise classes 4 times a week, but those have been admittedly rough this past week. I’m hoping once I hit the “coasting” phase, my energy levels will rebound and I can do well in class again. Until then, I’m just listening very closely to my body.

Once again, thank each and every one of you for your support and encouragement! I’m so happy to be here! Please don’t hesitate to unleash all your tips, tricks, and advice on me! In the meantime I’ll be watching all of @Yasemin’s YouTube videos. :grin:

5 Likes